Car Troubles

Wednesday, June 25, 2008

I took my car to the shop this morning.  It was having a few problems—the A/C wasn’t blowing cold air any more and there was a distinct squeak coming from the right front side—and needed an oil change and a new serpentine belt, so I figured it was time for it to go in.  I took it to P.A.T. and they were pretty cool about it.  Not only did they give me a free taxi ride from their shop to my office and a free return trip, but (because I made an appointment) they also had my car finished at around 4:00 PM.

Of course, just because I got my car back doesn’t mean it was all good news.  The air conditioning system seems to have a leak that they couldn’t find today, so they added dye to the coolant and we’ll find out when the cooling stops being so good where the leak is.  The squeak is gone, but in its place is a diagnosis: all four ball joints need replacing.  Not only that, but all four wheel bearings need replacement.  The shocks are also going bad, and all four of them need to be replaced, along with four tie rod ends, two adjustor sleeves, an idler arm, and a CV joint boot (this feels like a mechanic’s “12 Days of Christmas”).  If you know what half of the parts in that section are, congratulations: you know more about cars than I do.  On top of that, there are mysterious noises coming from the rear parking brake and the A/C compressor clutch.

So, all told, it would cost more than $4,000 to fix my car.  Fun, huh?  Considering that it just went over 150,000 miles and it’s a 1999 Blazer, I think I’ll be talking to the dealership and getting a new car pretty soon, depending on what they want to give me for a trade-in.

Anyone want to buy a Blazer?

Leave a Reply

